BU
Provider profile2 resources

Buildkite

Two current macOS hosted-agent shapes. Pro/Enterprise subscription eligibility and per-vCPU compute billing are recorded separately.

Reviewed Sep 21, 2026Provider claims · source links included
Visit provider

Company information

Official website ↗

Company-wide information is shown here once. Resource-specific support, terms and exceptions are recorded in each listing below. Operator relationships are not independently verified unless the evidence explicitly says so.

Research notes & open questions

Exact plan concurrency allowance can change; historical price/status observations and commercial cancellation/SLA documents need a deeper pass. Public APIs are not proof of fleet capacity. Uploaded assessment research (2026-09-21): CI: submitted research reports 6/19 checklist items resolved. Submitted open questions: signing: Does Buildkite offer an integrated signing-input management and App Store/TestFlight publishing workflow on the Pro plan; debugging: Is there a documented interactive debugging mechanism (or explicit restriction) for hosted macOS jobs on Pro?; cache: Are parallel-build controls documented for hosted macOS agents on the Pro plan, or is either caching or parallelism expl; incident_response: Does the Pro plan carry any contractual incident response-time targets or escalation commitments?; support_channels: What are the documented support hours and scope for the Pro plan?; sla: Is there any availability commitment or remedy applicable to the Pro (non-Enterprise) plan?; status: Does Buildkite publish a public status page with historical incidents?; identity: Are MFA and granular scoped roles documented as applicable to the Pro plan?; isolation: What workload-isolation and credential-protection commitments apply to hosted macOS agents?; data_lifecycle: What are the documented build/artifact retention, deletion, and customer backup responsibilities on the Pro plan?; security_docs: Which security responsibilities and contractual data/privacy terms apply to the Pro plan?; cancellation: What are the documented cancellation, renewal, and refund terms for the Pro plan?; operator: Who is the contracting operator and where are the current terms/privacy policies?

Access

Required permission
manage hosted agents for the job

AI-extracted from first-party documentation; source passage retrieved and matched, with a separate evidence/applicability check. Not independently machine-tested. The user needs the documented hosted-agent management permission for the job.

Source ↗Observed Sep 21, 2026 · Provider documented

Additional fees

Storage and downloads
included allowance per billing period
Above allowance
per-unit overage charge
Rate
not publicly specified

AI-extracted from first-party documentation; source passage retrieved and matched, with a separate evidence/applicability check. Not independently machine-tested. Applies when Buildkite-managed storage is used; the exact overage rate is not stated on the cited page.

Source ↗Observed Sep 21, 2026 · Provider documented

Additional storage pricing

Buildkite storage charge
No
Third party storage provider bills
Yes
Customer responsible for retention
Yes

AI-extracted from first-party documentation; source passage retrieved and matched, with a separate evidence/applicability check. Not independently machine-tested. Self-managed storage charges come from the storage provider, not Buildkite; the customer is responsible for retention.

Source ↗Observed Sep 21, 2026 · Provider documented

Availability methods

Categories
  • ci
Signal
Service health
Access
Public
Format
Status webpage
Limitation
Service health does not establish available machines or unit counts.

A source for checking provider information; this does not establish current machine availability or guaranteed capacity. Last endpoint check: 2026-09-21.

Source ↗Observed Sep 21, 2026 · Structured observation

Billing model

Meter
vCPU-minute
Calculation
instance-shape vCPU count multiplied by job runtime in minutes

AI-extracted from first-party documentation; source passage retrieved and matched, with a separate evidence/applicability check. Not independently machine-tested. The documented calculation is based on the selected instance shape and job runtime; no minimum charge is added here.

Source ↗Observed Sep 21, 2026 · Provider documented

Billing model

Storage measurement
GB-days
Definition
one gigabyte kept for one day

AI-extracted from first-party documentation; source passage retrieved and matched, with a separate evidence/applicability check. Not independently machine-tested. Buildkite-managed artifact storage measurement; transfer refers to downloads from Buildkite.

Source ↗Observed Sep 21, 2026 · Provider documented

Business security

Saml sso providers
  • Okta
  • Azure AD
  • Google Workspace
Scim plan
Enterprise
Soc2 type2
provider claim report not reviewed

Provider documentation; not independently performance-tested.

Source ↗Observed Sep 21, 2026 · Provider documented

Cache policy

Cache or storage supplementary charge
No

AI-extracted from first-party documentation; source passage retrieved and matched, with a separate evidence/applicability check. Not independently machine-tested. Applies to hosted-agent cache usage; this is distinct from artifact-storage pricing.

Source ↗Observed Sep 21, 2026 · Provider documented

Ci integrations

Documented ci setup example
GitHub repository/account selection

AI-extracted from first-party documentation; source passage retrieved and matched, with a separate evidence/applicability check. Not independently machine-tested. This is an explicit getting-started example, not an exhaustive supported-integration list.

Source ↗Observed Sep 21, 2026 · Provider documented

Data deletion

Job environment data
removed and destroyed after job completion

AI-extracted from first-party documentation; source passage retrieved and matched, with a separate evidence/applicability check. Not independently machine-tested. Applies after the job completes regardless of exit status; persistent cache volumes are a separately documented exception already supplied.

Source ↗Observed Sep 21, 2026 · Provider documented

Eligibility

Plans
  • Pro
  • Enterprise

AI-extracted from first-party documentation; source passage retrieved and matched, with a separate evidence/applicability check. Not independently machine-tested. Applies to macOS hosted agents, including the supplied M4 Medium and M4 Large offers.

Source ↗Observed Sep 21, 2026 · Provider documented

Gui testing

Browser desktop access
Yes
Condition
job currently running on macOS hosted agent

AI-extracted from first-party documentation; source passage retrieved and matched, with a separate evidence/applicability check. Not independently machine-tested. Available only while a macOS hosted job is running.

Source ↗Observed Sep 21, 2026 · Provider documented

Network

Outbound
HTTPS to agent.buildkite.com
Inbound connections required
No

AI-extracted from first-party documentation; source passage retrieved and matched, with a separate evidence/applicability check. Not independently machine-tested. Hosted-agent connections use outbound HTTPS; the documentation says inbound connections are not required.

Source ↗Observed Sep 21, 2026 · Provider documented

Network

Port forwarding required
No

AI-extracted from first-party documentation; source passage retrieved and matched, with a separate evidence/applicability check. Not independently machine-tested. The documented desktop workflow does not require local port forwarding; the CLI uses a local proxy connection.

Source ↗Observed Sep 21, 2026 · Provider documented

Network limitations

Hosted queue ip ranges
documented per queue
Static
No
Allowlist caveat
ranges may change

AI-extracted from first-party documentation; source passage retrieved and matched, with a separate evidence/applicability check. Not independently machine-tested. Queue ranges can change, so they should not be treated as permanently static allowlist values.

Source ↗Observed Sep 21, 2026 · Provider documented

Region

Data center location
US East Coast
Private cloud
Yes

AI-extracted from first-party documentation; source passage retrieved and matched, with a separate evidence/applicability check. Not independently machine-tested. This is the provider-wide hosted-agent location statement; no more granular residency commitment is stated.

Source ↗Observed Sep 21, 2026 · Provider documented

Support plans

Supported architectures
  • Apple silicon

AI-extracted from first-party documentation; source passage retrieved and matched, with a separate evidence/applicability check. Not independently machine-tested. Applies to the macOS hosted-agent service and is consistent with both supplied ARM64 offers.

Source ↗Observed Sep 21, 2026 · Provider documented

Support plans

Support services provided under terms
Yes
Separate support price
not specified

AI-extracted from first-party documentation; source passage retrieved and matched, with a separate evidence/applicability check. Not independently machine-tested. The Terms state that Support Services are provided, but do not specify a separate plan price or purchase requirement.

Source ↗Observed Sep 21, 2026 · Provider documented

THE RESOURCE CATALOG

Full specifications

2 individual listings
CI runners#

macOS M4 Large

Public listing; stock and purchase eligibility are not established by this record.

Native priceUSD 0.24/ runner minute
System
ARM6412 vCPU · 56 GB RAM

294 GB storage

Software & location

macOS Golden Gate, 26.6, 26.5, Tahoe, Sequoia, Sonoma · Xcode 27-Beta, 26.6, 26.6-RC2, 26.5, 26.5-RC, 26.4.1, 26.3, 26.2, 26.4, 26.1.1, 26.1, 26.0.1, 26.0, 16.4, 26.4-Beta2, 26.4-Beta, 26.3-RC2, 16.3, 16.2, 16.1, 16.0, 15.4, 15.3, 15.2, 15.1, 14.3.1

Region not documented

Availability

Check availability

Confirm before ordering

Offer value · default usage

49/100Low confidenceEst. USD 3,240 / 12 months
Calculation & assumptions

100 × reference price ÷ (reference price + offering price). Same category and RAM; 2 providers. Uses an estimated price, not a complete invoice.

100 × USD 3,060 ÷ (USD 3,060 + USD 3,240) = 49/100.

Additional fee or account requirements need normalization.

  • One user and one concurrent job or machine.
  • Excludes optional add-ons, transfer, extra storage and applicable taxes.
  • Estimated from the available listed price; unresolved charges and terms remain in the source details.
Reference prices · 2 providers
Source values
Value methodology ↗

CI: 1,000 minutes/month for 12 months, 10-minute jobs, private repositories, new Apple membership. Machines: one 720-hour allocation. Change usage assumptions ↗

Services & integrations

Service integrations for this offering are still being reviewed. The specifications below retain the available source evidence; confirm required integrations with the provider.

Workload capabilities

Admin
Not verified

No explicit offer-scoped or provider-scope evidence.

Docker
Not verified

No explicit offer-scoped or provider-scope evidence.

Graphical desktop
Not verified

No explicit offer-scoped or provider-scope evidence.

IOS simulator
Not verified

No explicit offer-scoped or provider-scope evidence.

Nested virtualization
Not verified

No explicit offer-scoped or provider-scope evidence.

SSH
Not verified

No explicit offer-scoped or provider-scope evidence.

Xcode build
Supported

Provider documented

Provider documentation; not independently performance-tested.

Pricing & commercial terms

Platform pricing

Amount
30
Currency
USD
Unit
month
Per
active user
Plan
Pro
Additional to compute
Yes

Pro platform fee is additional to macOS compute. Enterprise has custom terms. The published included Linux minutes are not included Mac minutes.

Source ↗Observed Sep 21, 2026 · Provider documented

Pricing

Currency
USD
Amount
0.24
Unit
runner minute
Native vCPU minute rate
0.02
Metering seconds
1
Minimum seconds
0
Plan required
  • Pro
  • Enterprise

Compute charges are additional to the eligible platform subscription; Pro lists USD30 per active user/month.

Source ↗Observed Sep 21, 2026 · Provider documented

Hardware & software

Compatibility images

  • Image
    macOS instance software support
    Xcode
    None listed
    IOS runtimes
    None listed
  • Image
    macOS Golden Gate
    Xcode
    • 27-Beta
    IOS runtimes
    • 27.0
  • Image
    macOS Tahoe 26.6
    Xcode
    • 27-Beta
    • 26.6
    • 26.6-RC2
    • 26.5
    • 26.5-RC
    • 26.4.1
    • 26.3
    • 26.2
    IOS runtimes
    • 27.0
    • 26.5
    • 26.4.1
    • 26.4
    • 26.2
    • 18.6
  • Image
    macOS Tahoe 26.5
    Xcode
    • 26.5
    • 26.4
    • 26.3
    • 26.2
    IOS runtimes
    • 26.5
    • 26.4
    • 26.2
  • Image
    macOS Tahoe
    Xcode
    • 26.3
    • 26.2
    • 26.1.1
    • 26.1
    • 26.0.1
    • 26.0
    • 16.4
    IOS runtimes
    • 26.2
    • 26.1
    • 26.0
    • 18.6
    • 17.5
  • Image
    macOS Sequoia
    Xcode
    • 26.4-Beta2
    • 26.4-Beta
    • 26.3-RC2
    • 26.3
    • 26.2
    • 26.1.1
    • 26.1
    • 26.0.1
    • 26.0
    • 16.4
    • 16.3
    • 16.2
    • 16.1
    • 16.0
    • 15.4
    IOS runtimes
    • 26.4 beta 2
    • 26.2
    • 26.1
    • 26.0
    • 18.6
    • 18.5
    • 18.4
    • 18.2
    • 18.1
    • 18.0
    • 17.5
    • 16.4
    • 15.5
  • Image
    macOS Sonoma
    Xcode
    • 16.3
    • 16.2
    • 16.1
    • 16.0
    • 15.4
    • 15.3
    • 15.2
    • 15.1
    • 14.3.1
    IOS runtimes
    • 18.4
    • 18.2
    • 18.1
    • 18.0
    • 17.5
    • 17.4
    • 17.2
    • 16.4
    • 16.2
    • 15.5

Provider documentation; not independently performance-tested.

Source ↗Observed Sep 21, 2026 · Provider documented

Default image

MacOS
26.6
Xcode
26.6

Provider documentation; not independently performance-tested.

Source ↗Observed Sep 21, 2026 · Provider documented

Hardware

Machine type
MACOS ARM64 M4 12X56
VCPU
12
RAM GB
56
Storage GB
294
Architecture
arm64

Provider documentation; not independently performance-tested.

Source ↗Observed Sep 21, 2026 · Provider documented

Access, operations & capabilities

Cache retention

Max days since last use
14
Guaranteed
No

Provider documentation; not independently performance-tested.

Source ↗Observed Sep 21, 2026 · Provider documented

Concurrency policy

Unit
allocated machine
Quota unit
combined vcpu
Includes booting
Yes
Excess jobs
queued
Count formula
floor(plan vcpu quota / selected shape vcpu)

Provider documentation; not independently performance-tested.

Source ↗Observed Sep 21, 2026 · Provider documented

Debug access

Terminal
supported
Browser desktop
supported

Provider documentation; not independently performance-tested.

Source ↗Observed Sep 21, 2026 · Provider documented

Job limits

Default maximum hours
4
Custom base images
No
Persistent cache volumes
Yes

Provider documentation; not independently performance-tested.

Source ↗Observed Sep 21, 2026 · Provider documented

Persistence

Job environment
ephemeral vm
Destroyed after job
Yes
Cache volumes
separate persistent resources
Custom base images
No

Provider documentation; not independently performance-tested.

Source ↗Observed Sep 21, 2026 · Provider documented

Additional resource information

Interactive debugging

Desktop
running jobs only
Requires organization remote access enabled
Yes
Requires manage hosted agents permission
Yes

Provider documentation; not independently performance-tested.

Source ↗Observed Sep 21, 2026 · Provider documented

Plan requirements

Eligible plans
  • Pro
  • Enterprise

Provider documentation; not independently performance-tested.

Source ↗Observed Sep 21, 2026 · Provider documented

CI runners#

macOS M4 Medium

Public listing; stock and purchase eligibility are not established by this record.

Native priceUSD 0.12/ runner minute
System
ARM646 vCPU · 28 GB RAM

182 GB storage

Software & location

macOS Golden Gate, 26.6, 26.5, Tahoe, Sequoia, Sonoma · Xcode 27-Beta, 26.6, 26.6-RC2, 26.5, 26.5-RC, 26.4.1, 26.3, 26.2, 26.4, 26.1.1, 26.1, 26.0.1, 26.0, 16.4, 26.4-Beta2, 26.4-Beta, 26.3-RC2, 16.3, 16.2, 16.1, 16.0, 15.4, 15.3, 15.2, 15.1, 14.3.1

Region not documented

Availability

Check availability

Confirm before ordering

Offer value · default usage

47/100Low confidenceEst. USD 1,800 / 12 months
Calculation & assumptions

100 × reference price ÷ (reference price + offering price). Same category and RAM; 2 providers. Uses an estimated price, not a complete invoice.

100 × USD 1,620 ÷ (USD 1,620 + USD 1,800) = 47/100.

Additional fee or account requirements need normalization.

  • One user and one concurrent job or machine.
  • Excludes optional add-ons, transfer, extra storage and applicable taxes.
  • Estimated from the available listed price; unresolved charges and terms remain in the source details.
Reference prices · 2 providers
Source values
Value methodology ↗

CI: 1,000 minutes/month for 12 months, 10-minute jobs, private repositories, new Apple membership. Machines: one 720-hour allocation. Change usage assumptions ↗

Services & integrations

Service integrations for this offering are still being reviewed. The specifications below retain the available source evidence; confirm required integrations with the provider.

Workload capabilities

Admin
Not verified

No explicit offer-scoped or provider-scope evidence.

Docker
Not verified

No explicit offer-scoped or provider-scope evidence.

Graphical desktop
Not verified

No explicit offer-scoped or provider-scope evidence.

IOS simulator
Not verified

No explicit offer-scoped or provider-scope evidence.

Nested virtualization
Not verified

No explicit offer-scoped or provider-scope evidence.

SSH
Not verified

No explicit offer-scoped or provider-scope evidence.

Xcode build
Supported

Provider documented

Provider documentation; not independently performance-tested.

Pricing & commercial terms

Platform pricing

Amount
30
Currency
USD
Unit
month
Per
active user
Plan
Pro
Additional to compute
Yes

Pro platform fee is additional to macOS compute. Enterprise has custom terms. The published included Linux minutes are not included Mac minutes.

Source ↗Observed Sep 21, 2026 · Provider documented

Pricing

Currency
USD
Amount
0.12
Unit
runner minute
Native vCPU minute rate
0.02
Metering seconds
1
Minimum seconds
0
Plan required
  • Pro
  • Enterprise

Compute charges are additional to the eligible platform subscription; Pro lists USD30 per active user/month.

Source ↗Observed Sep 21, 2026 · Provider documented

Hardware & software

Compatibility images

  • Image
    macOS instance software support
    Xcode
    None listed
    IOS runtimes
    None listed
  • Image
    macOS Golden Gate
    Xcode
    • 27-Beta
    IOS runtimes
    • 27.0
  • Image
    macOS Tahoe 26.6
    Xcode
    • 27-Beta
    • 26.6
    • 26.6-RC2
    • 26.5
    • 26.5-RC
    • 26.4.1
    • 26.3
    • 26.2
    IOS runtimes
    • 27.0
    • 26.5
    • 26.4.1
    • 26.4
    • 26.2
    • 18.6
  • Image
    macOS Tahoe 26.5
    Xcode
    • 26.5
    • 26.4
    • 26.3
    • 26.2
    IOS runtimes
    • 26.5
    • 26.4
    • 26.2
  • Image
    macOS Tahoe
    Xcode
    • 26.3
    • 26.2
    • 26.1.1
    • 26.1
    • 26.0.1
    • 26.0
    • 16.4
    IOS runtimes
    • 26.2
    • 26.1
    • 26.0
    • 18.6
    • 17.5
  • Image
    macOS Sequoia
    Xcode
    • 26.4-Beta2
    • 26.4-Beta
    • 26.3-RC2
    • 26.3
    • 26.2
    • 26.1.1
    • 26.1
    • 26.0.1
    • 26.0
    • 16.4
    • 16.3
    • 16.2
    • 16.1
    • 16.0
    • 15.4
    IOS runtimes
    • 26.4 beta 2
    • 26.2
    • 26.1
    • 26.0
    • 18.6
    • 18.5
    • 18.4
    • 18.2
    • 18.1
    • 18.0
    • 17.5
    • 16.4
    • 15.5
  • Image
    macOS Sonoma
    Xcode
    • 16.3
    • 16.2
    • 16.1
    • 16.0
    • 15.4
    • 15.3
    • 15.2
    • 15.1
    • 14.3.1
    IOS runtimes
    • 18.4
    • 18.2
    • 18.1
    • 18.0
    • 17.5
    • 17.4
    • 17.2
    • 16.4
    • 16.2
    • 15.5

Provider documentation; not independently performance-tested.

Source ↗Observed Sep 21, 2026 · Provider documented

Default image

MacOS
26.6
Xcode
26.6

Provider documentation; not independently performance-tested.

Source ↗Observed Sep 21, 2026 · Provider documented

Hardware

Machine type
MACOS ARM64 M4 6X28
VCPU
6
RAM GB
28
Storage GB
182
Architecture
arm64

Provider documentation; not independently performance-tested.

Source ↗Observed Sep 21, 2026 · Provider documented

Access, operations & capabilities

Cache retention

Max days since last use
14
Guaranteed
No

Provider documentation; not independently performance-tested.

Source ↗Observed Sep 21, 2026 · Provider documented

Concurrency policy

Unit
allocated machine
Quota unit
combined vcpu
Includes booting
Yes
Excess jobs
queued
Count formula
floor(plan vcpu quota / selected shape vcpu)

Provider documentation; not independently performance-tested.

Source ↗Observed Sep 21, 2026 · Provider documented

Debug access

Terminal
supported
Browser desktop
supported

Provider documentation; not independently performance-tested.

Source ↗Observed Sep 21, 2026 · Provider documented

Job limits

Default maximum hours
4
Custom base images
No
Persistent cache volumes
Yes

Provider documentation; not independently performance-tested.

Source ↗Observed Sep 21, 2026 · Provider documented

Persistence

Job environment
ephemeral vm
Destroyed after job
Yes
Cache volumes
separate persistent resources
Custom base images
No

Provider documentation; not independently performance-tested.

Source ↗Observed Sep 21, 2026 · Provider documented

Additional resource information

Interactive debugging

Desktop
running jobs only
Requires organization remote access enabled
Yes
Requires manage hosted agents permission
Yes

Provider documentation; not independently performance-tested.

Source ↗Observed Sep 21, 2026 · Provider documented

Plan requirements

Eligible plans
  • Pro
  • Enterprise

Provider documentation; not independently performance-tested.

Source ↗Observed Sep 21, 2026 · Provider documented